What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cheap Tissue Culture

Hello TF,

I'm pursuing a new cheap project! Recently, I was assigned a project in school where we have 7 weeks to pursue anything we want, and then we give a presentation on the process and what we have learned by the end. It's an awesome opportunity, and I have decided to move up my summer plans of attempting Tissue Culture. I am a student, and do not have access to any of the $15,000 laminar flow hoods or other equipment typically used. I'm not even going to try doing this with the typical MS agar and growth regulators. I'm going cheap, with a budget of $50. So, I'm going to have to get inventive and be careful, because I know how sensitive this practice is, and I by no means expect to be successful. But I'm going to try very hard to be, and hope I get it right the second time around :). What follows is where I am in the process of acquiring materials.

Today I bought most of the supplies I think I will need. These include:
  • A plastic box as a pseudo sterile hood as seen on the HTC webpage
  • 91% isopropyl alcohol
  • 70% isopropyl alcohol
  • Hydrogen peroxide (3% I believe)
  • 8.5% bleach (It was the best I could find, this was the super concentrated version too)
  • Inositol tablets
  • Multivitamin pills
  • Spray bottle to sterilize surfaces
  • Distilled water
  • Table sugar
  • Coffee filters to hold samples during sterilization

As per very nice instructions from BigBella, I still need for my media:
  • Agar
  • 10:10:10 fertilizer

In terms of equipment, all I need are:
  • Baby food jars
  • Long forceps
  • Pressure cooker