What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anything that goes BANG!

Lil Stinkpot

Lucky Greenhorn
Anything that goes BANG is more than welcome here. :awesome:

If you don't want to read about guns, or see pictures of them or their targets, turn back now. ;)

I think that I have hijacked Rattler's thread enough, so I'll start one of my own. I'm just getting into the sport, and it is a LOT more fun than I thought. I have an M1 carbine that's been sitting around for decades, and has seen lots of use by the condition of the rifling. I found it when preparing for my first move. I am learning to shoot with it, and just today I joined a local club so that I can learn better. Today's weapon of choice for the safety orientation and beginner's match was a club-supplied AR 15. I chose that one over an M1 garand because of the smaller recoil, and just a little bit closer to the carbine I'll be using tomorrow. Just my luck, the club is hosting a carbine match tomorrow. Woot!

Here are my targets for the day:

Slow fire prone, 20 rounds

Rapid fire prone, 10 rounds, followed by 10 rounds of rapid fire sitting:

10 rounds whatever position we wanted. I was there to learn, so I chose offhand. My mistake. :lol:

I just got a better sling than what came with it, a leather 1907 (model number, not age) meant for the garand. I repleaced that with a replica of the original oiler and cotton webbing sling. The oiler really isn't hard to put in, if you do it right. ;)

Old sling, not meant for the M1 carbine at all:

New sling, perfect match:

Nice M1 carbine! You very rarely see one without the bayonet lug, as nearly all of them were re arsenaled after WW2.