What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Got solar? I do now!

adnedarn

I'm growing CPs in the Desert of Tucson, Az
Admin
Hello all! I'm at the end of my research of possibilities to go solar... I've been offered a range of methods including lease (fixed and 2.9% riser), purchase, financing... I'm looking at 13.34-14.45kw system which should offset 100% of my use.

Basically I'm curious if anyone has a solar system on their house, and if there is any information (good or bad) they'd like to pass on to me. :)
Thanks!
Andrew

As a electrician, I have been pushed and prodded about solar since I got into the trade. We have had several classes on the subject, and I have developed some mixed feelings about it.

Living in Oregon, I think that anyone that goes solar here to "save" money is either very uninformed, or missing some brain cells. Solar is EXPENSIVE for what you can get out of it. And I believe there are much better ways to save money. In Arizona you will have a much greater return on your investment than we could ever get in Oregon. But only if your system is designed and set up properly.

But before you jump into a big solar system I would really recommend taking as many steps as possible to reduce the amount of power you consume. There are so many options available now for LED lighting. You can by inserts for your recessed cans, Costco has some great sales on LED light bulbs you can use instead of incandescent / CFL. Even unplugging unused electronics can add up savings in the long run. I would also recommend assessing the insulation of your house. Window and door upgrades. Maybe your hot water heater.