What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello everyone,

I feel it would be appropriate to firstly introduce myself before I explain my reasons behind joining this forum. My name is Alex from Yorkshire in the UK and although not new to keeping carnivorous plants, I am new to actually keeping them alive!

I recently rekindled my love for carnivorous plants after reading a copy of 'The Savage Garden' by Peter D'amato and decided to create my own carnivorous plant terrarium. Although the advice in this book suggests keeping the plants in pots and watering via tray, I felt this method looks slightly sterile and have instead have chosen to design a more naturalistic Paludarium style container for a selection of Carnivores.

Circumstances have led to myself obtaining a 30cmx30cmx30cm reptile vivarium to realise this project, within this there shall be a running/trickling water element, which leaves an area of 20cmx30cmx20cm for planting.

Here comes the reason I joined the forum, my intended design shall create an environment with high humidity and little space; but I am still unsure what carnivorous plants could thrive in those conditions. My own research has led me to believe that the following plants would do well:
Cephalotus follicularis (Albany Pitcher)
Nepenthes 'Bloody Mary'
Dionaea muscipula-Variety?

All these plants would remain potted on a shelf made of eggcrate with gaps filled by Spagnum moss-saving me the the problem of having to make different substrate mixes!

Overcrowded? Overambitious? Over the top?
Please let me know!

Any help from experienced terrarium builders/plantsmen would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Alex