What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

**I will preface this by saying I am not an expert, I have only been growing CPs for 5 years (but only really got into them in the last year) and there are many people here with vastly more experience. This is a summary of my experience and what I've learned about these horrid creatures. If you have any additional info (or corrections if I have made an error) please post up! I hope this helps others if they find themselves with the mealybug curse.**

I wouldn't wish mealybugs on my worst enemy. These little suckers (pun intended) are ridiculously persistent. I have been battling them for over 3 months now and wanted to share my experience with you guys so you know what to look for and what you're up against.

A little background first. I've had this plant for nearly 5 years now and have never had a problem with pests. Mealybugs don't just appear out of nowhere, they are introduced. I believe they hitched a ride on some garden store plants that my father bought for our vegetable garden who then jumped ship onto my S. x readii. When I first started to notice the curved pitchers I didn't think much of it. I thought it was strange, but nothing to really worry about. Oh how I was mistaken. It wasn't until things started to look quite bad that I really began poking around the rhizome to see if I could find anything abnormal. Sure enough I found the rhizome infested with mealybugs.