What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hey folks. I'm very new around here. This is my first attempt at CP. I've made the classic hobbyist mistake that I've scolded so many fellow reefers for doing, which is buying livestock before you research. Luckily I didn't mess up too bad

I recently picked up a S. Purpurea, and a VFT from the local big box store. I've got them each in plastic pots, with a mixture of silica sand and LFS. I have each pot on the front porch where they receive about 4-5 hours of direct sun per day. Being that they came from cubes of death and were indoors I didn't want to give them much more than that, despite my understanding they can ultimately take more. I won't post pictures because they're not pic worthy yet. I keep the trays the pots sit in full with RODI water which I top off every morning when I wake up.

I've been researching and debating on what direction to go with this. My biggest problem is my location. I'm right smack dab on the border of most maps zone8/zone9. We will call it zone 9, here in college station texas. Summers are regularly 90-100 degrees with moderate humidity. These conditions typically last from mid July to some time in late September to early October where it will start dropping to the high 80s low 90s. We may get a handful of light freezes in the winter and it typically bottoms out in the 30s for only a couple months around jan/feb.