What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Here, Be Dragons!

Among other things, I am an artist, and in addition to the carnivorous plant sketches (in a separate thread here), this is my other main focus: dragons! Many of them are based off images I have found, but a handful are more or less my own creation or rendition.
I'll post one at a time, every day that I can. What do you think?
This first one was without any picture reference, my own rendition of a well known dragon species.
Alagaesian Dragon by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr

That looks like the Dragon from the hobbit movie :) really nice work hun

Not quite. Smaug had no front legs, or feathers. That was based off the dragons of Eragon.

Another feathered species.
Ampithere by Hawken Carlton, on Flickr

Amphithere? I'm pretty dragon obsessed, too. On that note, I just finished one of a pair of dragon tattoos.

Well that shows u how good i am at dragons lol
I just thought the head kinda looked like him but then again what do i kno lol

They look good, but remember that Paolini's dragons did not have feathers. Saphira had beautiful deep sapphire-blue scales that were well polished, as you'll remember from the books, but nothing was ever said of feathers. You are basing that dragon off the movie, though, I believe. Just wanted to throw out a reminder that in the original works, the dragons did not have feathers.