What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sunshine Mix #4?

I went to my local indoor garden shop. You know, the kind where they help you grow "tomatoes" indoors. I told their plant person I'm growing carnivorous plants and he directed me to their Sunshine Mix #4. It says it only contains peat, perlite, and a pH adjuster (to 6.5). Has anyone tried this with their CP's? Do I need to run screaming and pull my Sarracenias from their pots that I transplanted them into? Sorry I'm a complete novice. :(

- - - Updated - - -

Also, I called my municipal water facility, and the TDS in my town is on average 84ppm, fluctuating between 74 and 92. I've found conflicting information on whether this is suitable for CP's. Thoughts?

And from the manufacturers web site is this:

Ingredients:
Canadian Sphagnum peat moss, perlite, dolomite lime, low phosphorus fertilizer, proprietary blend of endomycorrhizae, and wetting agent

And so, it has a fertilizer added, and that probably makes it inappropriate for most CPs, and that includes Sarracenia. However, what they don't tell you is how much fertilizer they've added, and that would be the key, since many growers have proven that Sarracenia can tolerate low levels of certain fertilizers and may in fact reap some benefit. But this Sunshine Mix is a bit of an unknown. Is there risk you might damage your plants by using it? Yes. Do you know how great the risk is, and is there an easy way to assess the risk? Not really, no.

Here's what I think: