What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tap Water increase

• Thread starter Scuipici
  • Start date
When I put cold water from the tap, my TDS reads about 33 ppm, but after 4-5 hours it goes up to 38-39 and stays there, why is that? Also, should I be worried for any hidden substances in the tap water that the TDS can't pick up? I've been watering my nepenthes with this tap water for 4 years and they are fine, but since VFT and Sarracenia are more sensitive to water, I'm a bit worried. The demineralized water I buy from the store has about 13 ppm but since I bought a lot of sarracenias, vft etc. buying water for them it would become too expensive since I keep them in full sun and soil can dry fairly often.

The reading on the TDS meter is affected by temperature. Higher end models will automatically correct for this, but it's generally not a big enough difference to matter. Your tap water TDS is about the same as mine as I have no problems either.

The reading on the TDS meter is affected by temperature. Higher end models will automatically correct for this, but it's generally not a big enough difference to matter. Your tap water TDS is about the same as mine as I have no problems either.

That's good to hear. Then that means I can water a lot without fear. I took the pot saucers away, so the water can drain any accumulating minerals. I water them everyday when it's very warm and sunny here, so the lack of pot saucers shouldn't be a problem. Thank you for the help :)

Have you ever calibrated your TDS meter; or can you? Some inexpensive models will not allow for it, along with a calibration solution; but a poorly calibrated meter is next to useless.