What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ICPS seed bank query

Anybody know whats up with the ICPS seed bank? I know its offseason for seeds but man is it low. Is it that nobody is donating? Is membership falling? Anybody got a clue?

I wondered the same thing. I think earlier in the year they had a bunch of stuff, then all of a sudden it was S. jonesii hybrid seeds or whatever is up there now. I'd donate some but I'm just getting started again and I am not 100% certain of the identities of some of the seeds I have.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

The new seed bank manager apparently doesn't have the time to actually manage it, on top of declining ICPS membership and donations declining over a long period of time. I've had quite a few people tell me over the past year that they donated seed and it never showed up in the seed bank inventory, so interest in donating is lower than ever. It really is too bad.

That's really a shame. I wonder if there isn't something we could do to help. Like a donation drive or something...

Last edited:
It takes a fair amount of time and energy to run a seed bank. The manager is a volunteer. Perhaps he burnt out or didn't realize the amount of work the job entailed.

One possible solution is to contact Joe G. or John B. and offer to help them. Find out where the problem is and jump in with assistance.

I run a small CP seed bank on another forum so I can commiserate with Joe. My personal problem job is dividing and individually packaging seeds when a bulk donation comes in to the seed bank I manage. Sometimes a donation comes in and it's a few weeks before I muster up energy to do it.

Good growing,
Mike