What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fungi

Something has been bothering me about peoples reactions to Fungi on or nere their plants. It seems like everyone assumes that it is bad and want to kill it. VFT people are the worst, they have an obsession with fungiside. Now I'm no expert, but I am a bio-student.

How many people here know about the symbiotic relationship between plants and fungi? I'm guessing very few. Nearly every plant studied in this field has been found to have some sort of fungi that it relies on. Trees have an average of 100 differn't symbiotic fungi's living with them, if it where not for these abondent fungi, the tree would die of dehydration befor it became anything more then a seedling.

In plants that produce super tiney seeds, the seeds may not even be capible of germinateing without a fungle parner. Has anyone here EVER studied this relation ship in CPs? I don't even have to pull out a microscope and culture dish to tell you they are their. CPs have tiney seeds, it doesn't take a month for the seed to germinate, it takes a month for water to seep in and start it's growth. The humidy isn't for the seed, it's for the fungi that grows with it. Is this a theory? Yes, but seeding as so many plants relie on this system, it's probubly true.

(this is also why sterile seeds don't sprout very well in many plants)

Mainly what I'm getting at here is that Fungi abuse is a problem. When someone sprays a Fungiside on a plant, the good fungi dies, the plant weekens and then room for a harmfull fungi is made. I have to ask, why does everyone assume the light fuzz on their plant belongs to one of the very few (% wise) parasitical fungi?