What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Internet problems- need advice please

• Thread starter Finch
  • Start date

Finch

Whats it to ya?
Hi i have been wresteling with a annoying thing on the internet for several months.

The problem is www.findthewebsiteyouneed.com . For some reason while ago it somehow made itself my homepage. No matter hoe many times i change the internet settings, it always brings me to www.findthewebsiteyouneed.com whenever i log in.
That in itself would not be so bad, but the thing downloads its own serch engine and toolbar(without asking you first!) so whenever i click serch, it brings me to a page filled with ads plus the serch engine ir pretty useless. The site also has popups that immidiatly begin downloading (again, they doesnt ask you if you want it- they  put it there) whatever the popup contains onto my computer. and its hard to find and delete the files The downloads have titles like userfiles23 and such- i cant tell them apart from normal software. I think some unfound file the site downloaded keeps bringing me to the site and redirecting me there. I cant tell most apart from essential software. What do i do?
Help!
mixed-smiley-030.gif

The answer to your prayers.

spybot search and destroy

download this program and run it. It will remove all sorts of bad things from your computer including the program that is setting your web page.

joe

I'll second Joe's suggestion.  Spybot S&D is a good program.  I usually run it once a week to make sure I haven't picked up some adware or spyware (or in your case a homepage hijacker) while cruising the net.

smile.gif

BCK