What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Steam water tested for salts

jimscott

Tropical Fish Enthusiast
I am considering creating a minibog in an area that is swamplike around the streamlet running behind our home as well as seeing if the water is safe to use directly on CP's. Mind you, I work in a lab and get alll the free deionized water I need. I keep nearly all of my plants at work for this reason.

I just had the water tested for Ca, Mg, K, and Na. The results are in PPM. Does anybody know the detection limits acceptable for CP's (in general)?

Na: 38
Ca: 85
K: 3.7
Mg: 23

I am also having the water tested for dissolved solids.

TDS is what you need to know. If it is below 100ppm its fine for all CP's. Nepenthes can take it up to around 150ppm.

Neps are tough, tehy usually live in soil where there are high conc.s of minerals or so I've heard, but don';t grow very well! Boil 100ml of water and see if there is any residual white stuff (If there is a mountain then obviously don't use it), but I think, like nep g, that under 100ppm should be OK (I don't have to worry, the water here is so clean that it could be drunk straight from de tap - 50ppm!!!)
smile_k_ani_32.gif

Wdon't you get a TDS measurer, found in hardware store/chemical factories/companies/store/places...

We can do the TDS right here at the lab. Just to clarify, was it the TDS you were referring to as needing to be <100 ppm? Are the salt values acceptable or not necessarily relevant? I am looking to try Sarracenias, VFT's and Darlingtonia. Whaddya think? Oh, and feel free to correct my typos - please. Steam? I meant - stream.