What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gross! i dissected a mouse tonight

• Thread starter swords
  • Start date
Ever have your computer mouse stop moving in one direction altogether and justify to either the top or edge of your screen so you shake it and cry and curse the universe and finally buy a new mouse?

Well, go grab youself a phillipshead screwdriver and a needle of some sort (do it now!
smile_n_32.gif
). Take out the screw and pop the top half off. Clean the lint, dirt and dust out of the spinning gear for the X & Y rollers and it'll be just like a brand new mouse! I've never done this before I always just went and bought a new mouse.

(No animals were harmed in this experiment)

The best computer mouse to clean are those found in collage computer labs. You just never know what all that gunk is from. You also get use to cleaning 40+ of the little rodants each week. I have since moved on to an optical mouse due to fact that they never need cleaned.

Many people have gone out and bought a new mouse, when all they had to do was clean the rollers. I guess I grew up with user manuals that showed all that stuff. Not so much today with the new computers. Everything seems to be in the built-in help features that no one seems to use. I find it so odd when I sit down at a computer someone has owned for a few years and go to use the help menu to show them what they could have done themselves, only to find "Setting up help for the first time" or whatever that message is.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Gross! i dissected a mouse tonight, And you should too!
Boy, is that a misleading topic!
smile_m_32.gif

yes, very misleading! But i did that once and peeled off layers and layers of gunk. mmm, delicous