What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Job search a tough one

• Thread starter firewired
  • Start date
Well........I've been graduated for a month now, and I still don't have a job. There are positions available in town here but nothing for graphic designers right now. I could get a job at a couple of other places for a while i suppose, but I was really hoping to get a nice graphic design job somewhere. There are some openings in a couple of other towns around, but i don't want to drive an hour and a half every day to and from work. And I also can't afford to wait on a graphic design job much longer. Hopefully soon.........

- Joel

Joel,

I understand completely where you are coming from. I have 8 years of IT experience as an analyst, and I can't find a full time position, I have been doing contracts for almost 5 years now. It is a brutal employment environment for guys like us right now.

My suggestion, put a resume up on www.monster.com, seach job sites like www.dice.com DAILY, and don't rely on e-mail for transmitting your resume, by all means use it, but send your resume with a cover letter in PAPER form tot he employer too, even go so far as to show up and fill out an employment application, the more times the hiring manager sees your name, the more likely they are to hire you.

Also, look into getting your resume with employment/consulting groups like TekSystems, Professional Access, and so forth ( those two may not be in your area, but a quick scan of the yellow pages will let you know who is.)