What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cacti

I was at Walmart today and was strolling by the plant section and saw a bunch of cacti sitting out. I have never tried growing a cactus before, but they seem like they wouldn't be too hard. They are some pretty unique plants too. I read that the biggest thing not to do is overwater them.

Anybody else grow them?

the ONLY cactus i can grow is the tropical/rainforest kind. i have never been able to grow the desert species. so im pretty sure there is more to it than keeping them dry. i know they need lots and lots of light but other than that i dont know. cacti are one of those that yah have to try for yourself and see if yah can grow them. no other way to know for sure.

I have killed so many cacti that I'm afraid to visit my parents, who've moved to Arizona.  I think the regional flora might seek revenge.

But I have two cacti now and one, a sort or barrelly cactus, blooms a lot.  It's maybe 3" tall and is in a clay pot slightly smaller than the cactus.  The the mix is a combination of sand and the seed starting mix I make.  It got knocked over about 1 1/2 years ago and I nevere refilled the pot, which is half empty.

The other cactus looks sort of like a collection of spiney fingers up to 4" long sprawling out of a pot maybe 1/2 the size of the cactus.  I don't remember what the mix is.  I put the cacti out with my orchids and Neps for the summer and make no effort to keep them out of the rain.  But with so little stuff around the roots, there's little that can happen to them.