What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need help starting an

I remember when I was a newbie and couldn't wait to get an "advanced collection" and every time someone gave me a plant I would be extremely happy, well I want to start a group dedicated to helping newbies who dont want to spend a fortune. I want to have a list of plants available, and the newbies can just ask for one that they want, there will be a limit so no one gets treated unfairly, all the newbies have to do is reemburse shipping charges, however now, I mostly only have seedligns that I can give away so I would like to have a few volunteers who could give plants to newbies, anyone up for it?

I think this a great idea, it seems to be right in alignment with the philosophy of this site - share, teach, and learn. I do not have much to give at this point, but I do remember being brand new to CPs (only 3 years ago) and not really knowing where to turn to learn and to grow my collection. I constantly scraped all my available funds (well, maybe not all) to buy more and more plants.
Now that I have moved away from Seattle to south Louisiana, I do not think I could even have bought those plants so readily. Quality CPs were easy to find in many nurseries and stores there, but I have not found any here except at Wally World and Lowes
smile_h_32.gif
LOL go figure, I move to the 'home' of sarracenias ( I know I know, but at least I'm on the Gulf coast...) and I cannot find any quality CP's outside of the net!
I can easily start many seedlings, some divisions and cuttings this summer. It may be a while before much is available, but I am all for this! Spreading the CP contagion is almost as wothwhile as supporting the NASC!
Count me in!

Kirk,