What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What size plants do you send when you trade?

JB_OrchidGuy

Cardiac Nurse
Hey everyone. I'm realativly new here. I have been lurcking for about a month I wouls guess. I have posted a little, but nothing magor. I'm new to CP's. I'm an orchid grower and have an interest in CP's. I'm just curious to know when trades are made what is the average size of plants sent? 1/2 inch to an inch, 1 to 2 inches or larger? I'm mainly asking about sarracenia. In most peoples opinion is a sarracenia plant 1/2 inch tall with only 2 leave to small for trade? Especialy for a flowering sized orchid? I just want to get some other peoples opinion on this matter and make sure I wasn't over reacting. I figured I would ask the people with more experiance than I. Thanks everyone.

Josh

That sounds like a seedling :-\ I would not trade a orchid for that. Or even a few of those. The adverage size of a Sarra to trade I'd say is 8-14 inches... Since they are often divisions they would never be 1/2 inch tall... Oh! And welcome to the forum!!
Andrew

Welcome, Josh! A Sarracenia that young might be worth it for a cultivar or hybrid of significance, but in my observation your typical, run-of-the-mill Sarr is worth $15-$30 as a nearly full grown adult. As for what is typically traded, we trade all sorts of things here; people send seedlings that size, but not usually for adult plants (certainly not adult plants that are as valuable as your average orchid.) But maybe some of the orchid growers will know better than I...
~Joe