What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Home depot/lowes/hardware store

How does everyone convince the people at Home Depot/Loews/where ever to give them the poor beat up cp cubes for a fraction of the original price. I have tried it several times (with most of the cubes obviosly suffering) and have always gotten the response of "we aren't allowed to do that" or the garden person is not there.

I have an advantage. I work as a cashier at H.D. on Saturdays and have convinced the garden department people That I am worthy of their neglected leftovers.

u need some bargaining and persuasive skills
biggrin.gif

Here in singapore, i get dying plants cheaply as well

1)you must look for the 'weakest' sales person and go for him (The one that seems easy to convince). This is usually a lazy/tired/fedup worker. Once a 'yes' comes out for his mouth, no one can take it back

2) Don't be timid, be confident etc etc

3)"My friend/brother has done it before" is powerful!

4)Be polite

thats my 4.5 cents
smile_n_32.gif

i've never done that before... but my mother has gotten orchids before for 50% off because they had spent their flowers and no one else would buy them.

My husband works for the local Lowes, and I'm going to have to try and convince him to do his best to get me the dying CPs they have cheap. I do know they 'clearance' dying plants at some point along the way.

BTW, I also take the cubes, and drill holes in them for drainage. They actually are okay as pots (especially the lids that are deeper) once they have drainage. They are sturdier than the el-cheapo plastic pots most stuff comes in.

[b said: