What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Glass vs. Plexiglass UV Filtration

Hi Everyone,

I'm a student who is working on a 300 gallon vivarium/terrarium display. It is filled with carnivorous plants accenting a artificial stream created by a resevoir on one side of the tank with a 250 GPH pump supplying water to three small mini-waterfalls. Im very proud of it :)
The science hall director and I are debating what kind of material we should use to enclose the system: plexiglass or glass? We are concerned with which material will block the UV rays our plants need to function. Does anyone have any knowledge of which glass would be sounder to use?

Thanks for your time!
-Jim

It doesn't matter. The light they block is negligible. Glass breaks, acrylic warps. It's up to you. Technically acrylic is more clear than standard glass, but unless your cover is an inch thick you shouldn't worry about that :) You may not even need a cover.

I'm a student who is working on a 300 gallon vivarium/terrarium display. It is filled with carnivorous plants accenting a artificial stream created by a resevoir on one side of the tank with a 250 GPH pump supplying water to three small mini-waterfalls. Im very proud of it :)
The science hall director and I are debating what kind of material we should use to enclose the system: plexiglass or glass? We are concerned with which material will block the UV rays our plants need to function. Does anyone have any knowledge of which glass would be sounder to use?
Simply going on what you have posted, I am leaning towards glass.
What is your budget like?
Indoors or out?
Is your lighting natural, artificial or both?
If artificial is involved, what type?
Is it in a high traffic area or low?