What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

First time making a minibog need a little help.

bluebird

Rub my belly!
I'm hoping on starting a mini bog out of a plastic pot and I don't really know if this is the correct way to go about this since it's my first time making one so far this is my plan.

I've bought a 12 1/4"- 31cm plastic pot and I'm hoping to put a few CP plants in it so far I have two typical VFT and hoping to get a few more to put in it like Drosera, Pitcher plants, and Akai Ryu VFT not too sure on what types of pitcher plants and drosera are good just yet still researching and looking around.

The media i'm thinking of doing is 50/50 Peat perlite and maybe some pine needles mixed with it either all of the media or maybe just the top layer and once I get all the plants I want in I'll probably put a layer of LFS on the top and in the winter I'll use the rest of the pine needles to mulch over and keep it outside for winter except on when it's in the 20s or 10s it'll go into the shed.

If the pot size I have is not big enough I could probably get a bigger one the store had a 15" one I'll just return the smaller one and get a bigger one also the pine needles are from my christmass tree it's a Balsim Fir, so I'm not sure if this kind is ok to use.

I'm going to get the sphagnum peat, and LFS this weekend to set it up for the VFT since they're still dormant or should I wait?

I have used larg plastic drained and undrained pots and have used glass/glazed ceramic pots too bigger the better. Peat perilite is greta but the perilite floats. Pine needles enver tried them but maybe a topping for estetics.