What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Terrarium

Hi, I am Crazycow73 and I am completely new to terrariums, planting, and all that stuff. I was wondering, what is a good way to start? I want a drosera and I live in PA so I thought I might need a terrarium. I have a big space in my bedroom but I have no idea where to get a decent terrarium? When I do get a terrarium, what are some things my drosera will need? I want to make it look pretty too so can you give me any tips on how to spice it up with some rocks and other plants? Thanks for your time! I really appreciate it! Also, it would help to name some stores where you bought this stuff.:hail:

What size terrarium are you looking at? And what is the budget?

The budget is around $150-200. If it comes down to it, I guess I won't need the pretty rocks in it too.

You really don't need a terrarium to grow drosera in PA. You could grow drosera filformis ssp filformis outside year round. You could also get something like a drosera binata (a personal favorite) and grow it outdoors in the summer and bring it indoors in the winter and put in next to a cool window and it will likely go dormant there. If you don't care about putting your drosera out during the year and you have lower light conditions you could try drosera adelae. If you can provide the light there are many others you can grow (capensis, spatulata, etc) all without needing a terrarium. Basically if it's easier for you to keep your plant in a terrarium go for it but it's far from necessary and you'd probably be better off thinking about things like light levels.