What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lighting

Hi all.
I am now planning to put my nepenthes highland tank (130,50,60) in my basement. It was far to hot in the old room. I am a total newbie to artificial plant lighting.The plants their pots wil be at 20 cm's of hight. So that leaves the pot surface at about a 40 cm from the light(s).So i have read both sticky's about plant lighting but i am still quite confused about the whole issue. Because the tank is in the basement it won't get any sunlight at all.So now i was wondering ; should i use metal halide lamps or fluorocompact tubes? Isn't a metal halide also quite expensive to run?Wel any lighting info is greatly apprecieted.
regards Sean

the florescents will work fine.......my Neps are closer to 80cm from some 122cm 32 watt T8 shop lights

t8 shop lights are good but i think that cfl (Compact Flourescent Lights) are better on electric in cost wise :D

takes a lot of CFL's to cover the 6 square feet im covering with 6 T8 bulbs between 3 fixtures(would be comfortable covering 8 square feet with the same light but my racks arent built for that).....besides i can rig up the lighting for 6 square feet in about 5 minutes.......would take me significantly longer to build the fixtures needed to light the same area with CFL's