What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What plants for a simple terrarium?

Sig

Eats genetically engineered tomatoes
So I'm new to carnivorous plants and I have this 24" by 12" by 12" terrarium, a few different kinds of sundew seed packets, a reverse osmosis machine, and some gibberellic acid. I want to make a "forest" of sundews, like a thick tangle of several different species of them. The tank would be warm year round. I'm wondering what I should know before I try this, such as the best soil, the type of plants I should do, and the sunlight.

I'd also like to know if there are any other easy to grow cp besides sundews that I could keep in the same terrarium.

Thanks!

I grow Petiolaris Complex sundews, B. liniflora, some sub-tropical sundews, and some utrics.

Picture005-11.jpg

Thanks! The posts really help. If I want to start from seed and have a forest of sundews, which species should I plant? I'm really new at this, I've kept a sundew and flytrap but not much else. I have access to most of the more common species so I'm wondering what would be the best combination (and if there are non-sundews that can also live in the same climate that would be great too).

For soil, should I just have peat moss and some perlite?

Thanks!

My favorite media is long fibered sphagnum, also known as orchid moss. Easy sundews would be D. capensis, D. adelae, D. spatulata,...