What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

noob questions. Please help...

Hi, I'm new to this and I'm having some problems. I haven't managed to kill anything yet and I hope to avoid it. I recently rescued a couple of sundews and pitcher plant from death cubes and I'm trying to get conditions right. The difficult part is that I live in the high plains of the new mexico/texas border and our climate is not very good for carnivorous plants at all from what I've read. I need to know how I can keep the temperature decent in my terrarium (my houseis not the warmest, it drops to the high 50s in here at night) and how to better control the humidity. In my house it stays at a constant 15 to 20%.

Cold for the pitcherplants right now is a good thing, as they need to be in dormancy.
But depending on the sundews, they may or may not to need be cool and dryish or warm and wet.

But you have a terrarium, eh?
For heat, a heating pad (like for reptiles) smacked onto the bottom helps. If you have water in the bottom of it, that'll inevitably create loads of humidity. Clamp lamps with appropriate bulbs are also good heat/light sources for a terrarium.
As for humidity, well, an enclosed space is probably a good idea. Having it without a lid or a screen top won't be doing you much favors.
My little growspace for my lowland nepenthes during winter is kept very humid by the high temps provided by lights with a small bowl of water in there. I do mist every other day too, just for the plant's sake :)

I'm sure others will be able to give you more detailed help based on their experiences!
Welcome and happy growing!