What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lithop Help!

Hi there! I am new to the world of terraforum, stumbled upon it while researching lithops!
I'm a high school student, doing an independent study on botany and am building two separate terrariums: one dry, and one wet. Currently I am working on the dry one, I have only planted the lithops so far... andddddd they aren't looking so hot.

attachment

https://mail-attachment.googleuserc...328712112292&sads=eCiZx7SjZDBkjbxrVk2kTSEcQe8

Hopefully the links to those pictures worked.. but if not, here's what started happening:

I bought them from a local nursery looking bright and beautiful, planted them a few days later in the terrarium (haven't watered them because it's winter). They started shriveling up, and I started to get worried about them, so I did some research and ended up here! I read about how winter is the growth period ya da ya da ya... so i continued to not water them and watch them look like they were dying. Finally, the leaves started to dry up and shrivel to the ground then I saw a little bud in the middle of it! that looked like this:

attachment

I saw that last Friday... showed up to school yesterday (Monday), and my little bud looked shriveled up and not good):

Is this normal...? If not is there something I can do to try and save it?!

Thanks!

---------- Post added at 08:50 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:47 AM ----------

Oh, and here is the one that was really bad.. (If you can even see it in the picture)
https://mail-attachment.googleuserc...328712112292&sads=eCiZx7SjZDBkjbxrVk2kTSEcQe8

pictures!

help.jpg
[/IMG]
help-2.jpg
[/IMG]
newgrowth.jpg

First two are the pathetic looking ones... third one is of the new growth before it shriveled up...