What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

experimental pot design

An idea of mine for a self cooling pot I had been tossing around for quite a few years but never got around to trying...
Based on an ancient technology used to preserve food but with Cp application modifications

A dear friend sent a nice cobra so what better time to try :)

Pictures are self explanatory I believe
Porosity of the terra cotta is critical of course.

z1

z2

z3

z4

z5

z6

z7

z8

z9

z10

no moving parts and nothing to fail = elegant imho

Relevant variables:
RH 46%
Dewpoint 63%
Maximum ambient surface temperature detected by FLIR thermography 93.7f
Pot 78.9f
DeltaT 14.8f

thanks for looking, :beer:

I did not adjust for thermal emissivity or reflectivity so take the temps with a grain of salt.

Last edited:
An interesting idea - evaporative cooling for pot-dwellers. So, the 93.3 F is the surface temperature of something nearby and not the air temperature?

yes,

But to pick the fly dung out of the pepper..... infrared thermography doesn't measure temperature per say but emitted radiation.... has to do with emissivity of the object etc etc.
If emissivity is "1" then these two line up fairly well, flat black for example has a emissivity of close to one, whereas chrome is very low
The camera would see the chrome object as being colder than the black, when both could have the same surface temperature.
An object's absorbtivity will also equal it's emissivity, and there are also variables such as reflectivity and transmissivity....

quiz in the morning :)

but yes, the actual air temperature is in the low 90's

Last edited:
More fly dung.

I see that the medium temperature is higher than the outside of that pot.