What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Managing Dormancy

• Thread starter DRBeck
  • Start date
I still have some drilling and painting of the aluminum bars I cut to adhere my LED's to and they also support my 4" fan. But I was wondering what suggestions there may be on cooling my terrarium down when it's time for dormancy. I would also like to know how cool the plants (in general) need to be and how cool is too cool. Thanks!

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

Any idea what you are growing yet?
Cheers
Steve

Steve, I'm just learning. I'd like some different varieties of vft's, a few pitchers and a few D. Aliciae.

I'd say that would be easiest to do dormancy in the fridge rather than cool a terrarium. Temperate NA cp's would expect temperatures between 40 and 50 which would be costly to do in a terrarium. Seasonal light cues would probably be enough to carry your plants through dormancy unless you live somewhere that is always hot.

Grey, what "NA" stand for?

North American probably

Most North American CPs can handle temps into the 20s very easily, so long as they aren't exposed to lots of dry winds. Snow cover helps too, if you're worried about keeping them outside during the winter. It is very difficult to cool a terrarium unless using a strong AC, very cold basement, or opening windows of the room at night. You won't be able to cool a terrarium to winter temps that temperate CPs expect, so it is either outside or in the fridge (or unheated garage but I count that as outside).