What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Light Bulbs?

Ok im looking for some grow "light bulbs" i have never used bulbs before but i have seen others on here using them for cultivation. I have a set up that i cant fit just 4-foot shop lights in so thats why im thinking of just using bulbs what type do you guys think is the best for good growth! The plants in the set up are just lowalnd Nepenthes what type of bulbs would be good for them?

Electric Carnivores!!!!!

EC,

There are also 2-foot shop light fixtures that are essentially the same as the 4-footers, just smaller. Also, there are standard Compact fluorescent bulbs that can be used in place of regular incandescent light bulbs. Look for color temperatures of around 5000k. If you can't find that info, get "daylight" or "cool white" bulbs. Stay away from "soft white" or "warm white" bulbs. And look for as high a wattage as you can for the compact fluorescents. For the 2-foot tubes, look for "cool white" tubes or you can spend more on veri-lux bulbs or other fancy grow lights, which are good but expensive.

Capslock

Capeslock Yes i have tryed Cool white fluorscent lights before but when im dealing with fluorscent fixers i like to use G.E pland Anaquarium i find these lights are great for good growth and color
smile.gif
I was going to ask you how do you grow yur Heliamphora Heterodoxa x minor do you just grow it in a tank over lights? do you use the cool white? how many watts does yur plant get? yur's seem to be a little more colorful then my H.HxM
smile.gif

EC,