What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Think my plant is dying

Here is the deal. I'm new to this and I have a 10 gallon tank with a venus fly trap. It started off nice. I have perlite on the bottom and then I have some mixed with with some peat moss. Then I have this long fiber moss stuff on top of that. I filled it with about 1 gallon of distilled water and put a fluorescent light over it. I then fed it part of a night crawler and then it started to turn black and looks like it's drying up. I spary it with the distilled water everday and I even put a second light on it but I dunno. Should I cover the top with some plastic to help out humidity or what? All the traps are closed and they look like they are cracking and turning black. Can anyone help out a rookie?

Hi J and welcome to the forums! Just cut off the blackened trap. It would appear that the VFT had indigestion.

Humifity is overerrated and many who go the terrarium route tun into problems with mold from the lack of air circulation.

VFT's do the best when outside but will do very well when the pot is placed in a distilled water filled plastic container, at a south-facing window sill. here is a picture to illustrate this:

Jamie's%20Plants.jpg

It lacks aesthetics, but you'll get the idea. Any other questions?

I live in Wisconsin so I don't know about putting it outside and then what would I do in the winter? I got rid of the black parts but they steams look like they are drying out and getting kinda yellow/white crusty spots. I would put them on a window still but its kinda too big for that so I have to use artificial light.

Hi JMurphy97.
I live in Wisconsin too. Grew up in Milwaukee, but live about 45 minutes west of oshkosh now.