What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Terraformed-terrarium! good or bad?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the CP world (3 months) and i'm looking to put together a terrarium. With the help of this site and many others I have acquired appropriate lighting, a 4ftx2ftx2ft aquarium and a proper means of ventilation, etc. I have, however, reached a dilemna. I am torn between the all pot terrarium or the slightly more eye-pleasing terraformed terrarium (the plants are actually planted in soil along the bottom of the acquarium). I know a bit about the drawbacks of each, my preference is the terra-formed one but if it's too much hassle i'll settle for the pots behind glass.

If anyone has any knowledge on which is better, and if possible, how to construct the terra-formed one please let me know.

Thanks a bunch,

Zac

WOW! nice size tank. what is that a 90 gallon? 150?

make a comprimise. keep the plants potted and plant the pots. cover the dirt with sphagnum (preferably live, looks better) or let the utrics run rampant.

get yourself a bunch of the packing peanuts that dont dissolve in water to fill in around the pots(saves ALOT in the wieght department) and cover the surface with LFS. it will look nice, everything will have its own pot for easy removal for dormancy, cleaning out dead leaves, pest control, ect. Utrics can grow on the LFS though you may loose track of what species is which if they arent in flower. i think this will give you the best of both worlds

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]WOW! nice size tank. what is that a 90 gallon? 150?

right in the middle it's a 120 gallon tank. I wouldn't go looking for one I had it custom made to fit a niche in my room

thanks both of you i'll experiment with this plant the pots idea

cheers