What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I'm planning on buying a 5 gallon tank to house some Drosera Capensis (probably 3 or 4) and I want to actually plant them in the terrarium, unlike my three other tanks where I keep the plants in the pots. I've ordered some peat, sphagnum, and perlite from Sarrecenia Northwest and I plan on ordering my Cape Sundews (bareroot) from Cook's Carnivorous Plants once I get everything underway. Seeing as I've never tried this type of terrarium before, I have some questions:

1) How do I mix the soil? I believe I read that sundews prefer a mix of one part peat, one part perlite. I've never actually understood what this means. Do I just make it so half the soil mix is peat and half is perlite?

2) How would I go about watering? Obviously I can't use the tray method of watering, so should I just water from the top? Should I try to not hit the sundew leaves when I water and just aim for the soil around the plants?

3) Would three Cape Sundews be adequate for this size terrarium? The Cape Sundew is by far my favorite sundew and I want this tank to really fill up with them. I've read on this forum and several other places that this plant can easily turn into a weed, which is basically what I want. I would love to see this whole tank fill with Cape Sundews.

1: Yes. 1:1 would be half and half. Think of it as how many handfuls/cups/etc. of each type of soil to add.

2: Yep, but occasionally I'll even water directly on the plants. I figured Rain doesn't miss the plants, so it shouldn't harm them.