What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New terrarium

Hey everyone, im new to these forums but iv been browsing the past couple days and it seems like a good place. My names chris takahashi so helloo.
smile.gif

On to business.. I'm building a terrarium but i have NO EXPERIENCE OR PRIOR KNOWLEDGE with growing any kind of plants or anything of this sort. I just became really interested recently and iv been reading up about terrariums so I now have a tall 18-gallon aquarium tank, a fixture with two 20v flourescent "natural sunshine" bulbs, and some other miscellenous supplies. (i could take pics but i didnt think this would be necessary yet)

ANY advice or comments as to how i would go about selecting, growing and caring for my first plants EVER and my first terrarium ever would be grrrrreatly appreciated. Ill reply quickly to any questions on my future set up so feel free to just post ur thoughts.

Thank you.
smile_r_32.gif

Welcome to the forums!!

Line 3 sides of it with something REALLY reflective. I recommend the "heat blanket" you get from Target for about 2 bucks. Also make sure you have a glass or plastic top to protect the plants from burning under the light and to increase humidity. I'm not sure if 2 20v flourescent lights is enough, but others will prolly comment. Are you going to terraform it or pot your plants?

-Rail