What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What's with the naming conventions of CP's?

I'm really new to growing CP's and would like to know how the naming conventions work. I see  D. capensis, N. ventrata, S. leucophylla, P. potosciensis etc but don't understand why there is a D, N, S, P etc before each one.
smile_l_32.gif

The letters are abbreviations for the genus each of the species belong to. the genera (with common name) you list are:
Drosera (sundews), Nepenthes (tropical pitcher), Sarracenia (pitcher), and Pinguicula (butterwort).
Plants are generally listed with their latin names--genus first, then species. You also might see them listed with their common names like Sundews vs. Drosera
Hope this helps!
Peter
cool.gif

Ok, thanks... that helps
biggrin.gif

And technically, though most have have been lazy about it, the scientific name is italicized. e.g. Drosera binata. Then are the cultivars.....
smile_k_ani_32.gif

bringing it back....its also easier to write Nepenthes vs tropical pitcher plant or sarracenia vs north american pitcher plant.
Alex

I think "north american pitcher plant" and "tropical pitcher plant" are tacky laymans terms.

[b said:
Quote[/b] (pingman @ Sep. 20 2006,6:36)]... Plants are generally listed with their latin names--genus first, then species. . .
This is a common misconception, that the second part of the binomial is the "species" name. When in fact, only the genus and specific epithet (second descriptive part of a species name), together comprise the "species" name. Which is why it is called a binomial system.