What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Name that plant! XD

Hey ppl! It's been a couple of years since my last post. Other than that let's get down to the topic. :3

The other day I went to the nearby greenhouse cuz' my mum wanted to buy some ornamental ceramic stuff... So long story short: the lady from the greenhouse was giving away what she called an "odd orchid" which turned to be a nepenthes. It was in a bad shape, or so I think. It was being hanged on the shed right under the sun...roasting.

So here are the pictures:
DSC06585.jpg

DSC06595.jpg

DSC06589.jpg

DSC06590.jpg

DSC06593.jpg

Hiya Andenes

Good to see you back. :)

I'm no nep experty by any means but my guess would be N. x 'Gentle'. Its very hard to ID a nep (at least for me) when the pitchers are so small like that. But its spotted like N. x Gentle and also that is a very popular nep for garden shops to sell.

Someone else might want to weigh in on this. Also you can always check out BobZ's site where has a gazillion photos of Cps. That's a great aid for identification. :) I can't recall the addy off hand but if you look in the forums Articles sections, there is post titled something like "Looking for photos" and that has the link to the site.

------------------
Thought I'd add that N. 'Miranda' is very similar. Both of these plants can be found in garden shops often in those white hanging baskets. I have one myself (Gentle).

Last edited:
Looks like a 'Miranda' to me. 'Gentle' is more brown speckeled than red.

No no no! It is most definitely some sort of "odd orchid!" LOL. Good luck getting it back to health!

xvart.

Lol xvart...if I had a nickel for everytime I heard that...