What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nepenthes mysteriensis

Lil Stinkpot

Lucky Greenhorn
I got this as a TLC plant online, and it's the first of five to pitcher. The other four are still recovering.

Unfortunately, it's impossible to get the plants in the right spot unless I know what they are.

Here it is. All red!

134.jpg

136.jpg

143.jpg

Could it be possible that there's some Sanguinea in there? the pitcher's shape reminds me a bit of mine... but then again, I'm a nep noob, what do i know.

looks like a red burbie to me.

the reason why i think it's burbidgeae, is because of

1) the "candy stripped" permistone (maxima to my knowledge does not have this characteristic until it reaches the upper pitchers),

2) maxima usually has creases in it's permistone but this plant doesnt,

3) burbidgeae has red leaves in good light, and they have a little fuzz on the edges. and

4) the leaf "rolls" up near the base of the stem. my burbidgeae does that. it's been too long since i've had a maxima in my possession so i cant say that it doesnt have that characteristic.

that being said, there could be a little tobaica in there somewhere as well since the pitchers resemble it.

the reason why i think it's burbidgeae, is because of

1) the "candy stripped" permistone (maxima to my knowledge does not have this characteristic until it reaches the upper pitchers),

2) maxima usually has creases in it's permistone but this plant doesnt,

3) burbidgeae has red leaves in good light, and they have a little fuzz on the edges. and

4) the leaf "rolls" up near the base of the stem. my burbidgeae does that. it's been too long since i've had a maxima in my possession so i cant say that it doesnt have that characteristic.