What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi, everyone.

I'm Caleb from Atlanta, GA, a city planner with a secret passion for bug-eating plants :) I've been lurking on here for a while, but have not formally introduced myself, so I'm doing so now.

I've been into CP since around the third grade, when I did a report on venus fly traps. In the decades since then, my collecting has come and gone - mostly gone. Then, when I moved to Atlanta 10 years ago, and made a trip to the Atlanta Botanical Garden and saw their beautiful collection, something re-awakened in me. I've been an urban hobbyist ever since.

My collection here has done much better than in my home state of Vermont, most likely due to the climate and an increased understanding on my part of what it takes to grow CPs. My growing conditions are unique, to say the least. I live in a mid-rise building, but am fortunate enough to have a small balcony space. Sadly, the light in this location is limited to around 3 hours a day first thing in the morning, so before work each day I bring the on the exterior skybridge that connects my building to the next, where they get around 8 hours. I've been doing this for four years, and, believe it or not, my neighbors LOVE it. By now they all even know that they're NOT flowers.

The plants seem to like it. Living in Downtown Atlanta, heat can be an issue in the summers, but luckily the elevation of my unit provides lots of wind. My biggest problem is root fungus, which seems to come and go. But this year I think I'm doing fine (knock on wood).