What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newbie from Md here

Hello all. I am new to this hobby infact i dont even have my plants yet. I did a bunch of reading and decided to order a couple venus fly traps and one north america pitcher plant. They will be here soon i hope. I plan on doing an outside bog garden. I cant wait to get going in this hobby I lo ve watching things grow and thrive which inspired my other addiction ( I mean hobby) which is reef keeping. So if any one has any suggestions,pointers etc I am all ears

Ken

Welcome!

My suggestion? Buy some Nepenthes :)

Oh reef keeping I see. I used to do that. Great hobby. If you have a space PC system or better yet, MH, use it for a big terrarium. Y'know, for those nice nepenthes you were thinking of buying :)

I'm glad you want to grow temperates outside. Most newbs are hellbent against it. Mulch heavily and you should be fine.

As appealing as a large terrarium is i already have a 300gl and 120 gl reef tank so getting another tank in the house might not work out so well.

What is best to mulch with?

:welcome:
Here is a link about mulching.

300 gallons? 120 gallons?

You're so cruel not to post pics. Do you want me to cry? Is it mostly sps, lps, softies or a hodgepodge of all of them?

We have a member named Victoria in... Kansas I think. She's offered to trade coral for plants in the past. Something to consider if you ever have spares.

The 300 is SPS and the 120 is LPS and softys.
Here is the fish room
IMG_0143.jpg

Here are some shots of the fish and corals
IMG_0507.jpg

IMG_0508.jpg

IMG_0509.jpg

IMG_0032.jpg

OMG, that's soooo cool! It's like Finding Nemo!!! I love Moorish Idols and Blue Tangs!:love:
I bet its expensive to keep, huh?