What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DSC04693.jpg

DSC04696.jpg

DSC04694.jpg

DSC04697.jpg

Got any advice on:
lighting
aphids
drowning my drosera capensis

So carniverous plants have always been a fasination of mine specially the VFT ever since i was a kid. I've tried to grow and care for about 5 of em in my lifetime none with such great success. probably because wyoming is either an extremly dry dessert or an extremely dry frozen wastland. (those are our two seasons) I had found and purchased D'amato's book Savage garden last year and i'm just starting out now. this is my best attempt so far. I had bought a good lookin vft, D capensis and a baby sarracenia of some kind. my capensis was filthy with aphids so i'm trying to drown out the buggers now. but the rest are in a 10 gallon completly lined with alluminum. my lighting is one 18" GE plant and aquarium bulb. it seems to be a quality bulb but i'm wondering about my Lumens one bulb only does 510. the light hangs on the inside of the tanks lid. right now it stays about 81 degrees to 75 degrees. and 70% to 90% humidity. it seems to LOOK like a good setup but I am a noob so we'll see.

heres a pic. whats it look like that sarracenia is doing, going dormant? i bought it like that. thats a sensitive plant on right. now ive got a dish under it to keep it out of the "clean" water for my cp's.

Last edited:
Hiya, welcome to TF! :wave:

Um. It doesn't exactly help when your picture is on MySpace and it's on private or deleted. But, I'd say you should get the Sarracenia and VFT out of the 10 gallon tank and put them outside in full sun. There are several desert growers here, so hopefully they can give you more advice.

Try using a photo hosting site like Photobucket.