What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Yo Yo Yo Portlander Oy Oy Oy

Oy,
My name's Carson, I'm 19, and I've been growing CPs for about 14 years. It got really intense when I found a steady stream of them coming from a local nursery. Naturally I went nuts and haven't been cured since.

I posted on this forum and others as a less mature middle- and high-schooler. I felt it appropriate to renew my identity. I guess anyone who recognizes me from anything I post is free to call me out.

I'm currently on summer break, transferring from Eugene's University of Oregon to the drastically more educationally inclined Portland State University, majoring in something along the line of social work. I'll be doing volunteer work over the summer and into the winter, and I'll also be growing plants along the way.

I like martial arts (taichi, eclectic kungfu), sketching in coffee shops, reading (periodically), teaching, and learning. I also do this weird hobby: I grow carnivorous plants in my sunroom and on my back deck. I used to have a lot more, but ever since I left for college someone forgot to water them. Also, weird Portland snow. So now my collection is 80% smaller. *sigh* I like sundews. We'll talk about it.

I'll be at the ICPS conference with my old Aussie buds in Cairns next month too!

So three cheers for me and see you around,

-Carson Trexler

Last edited:
Welcome Carson!
Portland is a great place to be relocating to. Every month there is a group of us that meet at a local (minor friendly) pub up there to be plant nerds together for a few hours. I live out on the coast, but try to make it up there to the meeting when ever possible. So much knowledge to gleam off the more experienced growers.