What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hello,
My name is Matthew and I live in the Houston area. Im a noob to carnivorous plants and I see that this site is very informative. I have a green house that is 12x7x7. I only have two nepenthes right now. Green Gentle and a Lantern Alata. I also have what I THOUGHT was a fat chance sarracenia, but I now think it is a sarracenia purpurea. I also like succulents. I have a desert rose, couple of aloe vera, a san pedro, umm o and a couple orchids. I have two raised beds in my green house filled with random stuff like canna lilies, strawberries, purple hearts,coleus. I also have my first Christmas cactus. Im also into herbs. I have a pineapple sage plant that just bloomed like a week ago and its huge. One more thing. Im a chili head. I love peppers.. especially super hots. I have Carolina reapers, chocolate bhuts, and a couple brain strains. I have tons of ornamental pepper plants too. That's about it really.

:welcome: Welcome to TF Matthew! Here you will learn just about everything you need to know about growing these wonderful plants. It is very likely your greenhouse will be taken over by carnivorous plants before long. This is a highly addictive hobby.

Your "Fat Chance" should look like a purpurea. Sarracenia “Fat Chance” is a select clone of what was formerly called Sarracenia purpurea ssp. Venosa var. burkii, but botanists have recently separated burkii away from the species purpurea and they are now called Sarracenia rosea. The Carnivorous Plant FAQ: Sarracenia rosea

From what I am told, “Fat Chance” tends to be a little more vigorous/faster growing than other varieties of purpurea/rosea, but I don’t have that clone so cannot say whether that is true or not.

Last edited: