What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Houseplants

I have some various houseplants, and sorry I am new to growing plants, so i don't even know their common names - any help is greatly appreciated!
Some of them have issues that I was hoping I could solve with your help :)

Here is common house plant, I think it's commonly called "Peace Lily"?
pHosting.php

The first peace lily we tried, we killed some how, so this is take two. It flowered when we bought it, then stopped for a few months and is now starting again.
Concerns: necrotic leaf tips. what does this mean?
pHosting.php

Also sometimes small leaves near the base will get chlorosis will turn yellow and will die. what does this mean?
Anyone know the scientific name for this plant?

Here is another one. I know nothing about this one, no name. if anyone can ID it that would be cool.
pHosting.php

Growing tall. I changed soil on all my house plants last year. none died after so that's good.
Concerns: same necrotic leaf tips. sometimes large leaves will dry out or show chlorosis before they dry out. what is going on?

Another issue i have with some of these bigger plants (I will post more when i have time) is that their soil will not dry out. the middle-bottom stays moist or dark. top layer sometimes dries out but i'm afraid of watering since below its all dark and looks like it holds moisture. been like that for months. pots have drainage pans, i checked if water drains well, and it does. most pots have 100% organic soil, no additional perlite or peat or sphagnum. i only use loose mixes for my recent bromeliad additions.
any words of wisdom and IDs?
Thanks!

The second one is I believe Dracnea fragrans which is often called a "Corn Plant".