What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do you guys grow Phals?

In my local Home Depot I have seen many beautiful Phals on sale with multiple flower stalks on them, and I wanted to know how some of you 'experts' grew them so that maybe I could make the Phal that I choose grow for years to come.
Thanks!

I'm not an expert and if you can grow an African violet you can grow a Phalaenopsis.

I use 2/1 bark/LFS and I let it dry out between waterings. Put it in a wndowsill. No direct sun.

Well, so far I have never attempted to grow an African Violet, so I'm still a little unsure, but thanks!
Do most orchids like to dry out somewhat between waterings?

Epiphytes yes.

Try it out. They are cheap and staple.

what African Violets or Phals?

I was talking about phals but...well really both.

I'll try both of them, because I have a local friend who's a beast when it comes to growing African Violets, she literally has her house full of them

I've had much more success with Phals than with African Violets.

Phals are a larger root orchid and can take having a little more water around their roots than many other orchids and are very easy to grow. The do like to dry out pretty much, but you do not have to let them go bone dry like many other orchids do. In order to get them to rebloom you have to give them a chill of around 55 degrees to set spike, but that is the easy part. They do not like much sun at all. An east or west window with with no direct sun will be good. They are considered a low light orchids. Clints mix sounds like a good one. I use alot of straight bark, but some are still planted in LFS. And like clint said the ones from lowes are cheap and great to start on. I have killed my share in the begining.