What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lady Slipper pot

Can a lady slipper orchid be grown in a african violet pot??
Also, what type of soil media would you recommend?

I have dried sphagnum moss, orchid bark, vermiculite, perlite, peat moss.
Any help would be appriciated. I googled for soil mixes but got different answers. I trust people from here more. :) thanks all.

-- Jesse

I'm no orchid expert, so you should by no means take mine as the final word. I don't think an african violet pot would be ideal. Aren't those undrained? I wouldn't be surprised if you made it work, but I don't think that's when most lady slippers prefer. I'm sure someone smart like Tony will come along and give you better advice than mine, though. :D
~Joe

No violet pot paph's must drain well though, phrags.( Paph's cousin) can sit in water, like some cp's.
i have mine in a north window shelf,
not much sun this time of year, and i do have a flour. fixture two 24" grow lux bulbs just t-12's 10 hours a day , never direct sun on these, they could take a little morning sun but you would need to acclimate them to it.
medium humidity 35 55 % , any good orchid mix will do should have a little charcoal and perlite in the mix. water once weekly and 1/4 strength orchid bloom booster plant fertilizer. make sur to use something formulated for orchids/no urea .
if you feed all the time its just easier to keep up with the schedule.
i keep a fan near the shelf and mist a few nights a week slightly wetting the top of the mix and the leaves of the orchid , and run the fan at a pretty good force as to dry them out,its ok to leave the fan running all night of you want I don't leave them wet.