What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Orchid newbie

wishs_angel

adnedarn's wife =)
Hello, I am new to Orchids.  I just figured I would say hello, and introduce myself.  Thanks to plantakiss for starting me in on this (I met her through my soon to be husband (adnedarn on this forum).  I figure it this way.  He spends money on plants.  ...now i can too.  :-D  I think I will most enjoy them.  I just puchased 3 diff plants.  Here are some pictures.  I have read the Orchid care sheet, any other tips and info would be much appriciated.
Here is a pic of EPC. KAUAI PRETTY GIRL and the roots growing out the top.
EPC%20KAUAI%20PRETTY%20GIRL%20ROOTS%20IN%20AIR%204-16-03.JPG

Here is a pic of the whole plant.
EPC.%20KAUAI%20PRETTY%20GIRL%204-16-03%20PLANT.JPG

Here is a pic of WILS.LISA DEVOS
WILS.LISA%20DEVOS%20PLANT%204-16-03.JPG

Here is a pic of WILS.KOLIBRI
Wils.%20Kolibri%20plant%204-16-03.JPG

And finally a close up of the WILS.KOLIBRI FLOWER.
Wils.%20Kolibri%20flower%204-16-03.JPG

Thanks,

first off welcome to the forum.

you had me baffeled at first with the first pic. you posted. i had to look twice to see what you used to tie the plant up with. first time i have ever see a hair butterfly used. good idea thu.

the one thing i would do is repot the plants into your own soil mix. you never know how long the plant has been in the mix it came with and a refresh is always great for the plant. all that paper and most likly package popcorn is not needed

enjoy your new plants since you have been around them for a while due to your hubby it really isn't something new to you.

Hi Deangela

Welcome to the orchid forum.
smile.gif