What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

American Pitcher Plant Questions

Hi all! New CP gardener here. Since i am new to this i am hoping you guys can help me out with some questions i have. First my setup, it is a 6X4 outdoor drained bog garden(with liner). I have 12 American pitcher plants that i started from bare root in April. They seem to be doing well for the most part with a couple of hiccups. I am using a mix of rain water and tap water (hardness of 75ppm or less) since we are going through a drought here. My questions are as follows:
1) I have noticed that some of the pitcher plants "hoods" are not there, as in they didnt develop or they look like they were burnt(The bog garden is constantly wet so it isnt lack of water) any reasons what this is occurring?
2) My lawn service, Scotts, put out slow release fertilizer and managed to get some in my bog garden. Will this cause problems in the long run?

Thanks for all the help in advance as i am sure that i will be asking more in the future,LOL.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]1) I have noticed that some of the pitcher plants "hoods" are not there, as in they didnt develop or they look like they were burnt(The bog garden is constantly wet so it isnt lack of water) any reasons what this is occurring?
2) My lawn service, Scotts, put out slow release fertilizer and managed to get some in my bog garden. Will this cause problems in the long run?
The burnt hoods is probably from the sunlight. Perhaps a little shade would do them some good.

What kind of fertilizer is it? You might want to wash out the soil or even replant if too much got in there.
Oh and I would be upset with scotts if they kill your plants