What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cutting flower stalks..

vft guy in SJ

VFT and Drosera lover
I was wondering how tall you all let your flower stalks grow before you cut them. I have stalks ranging from anywhere between 6" tall and just emerging from the crown. Is there a benefit to clipping them early or letting them grow out a bit?

Thanks
Steve

I have a question on top of your question! I was doing some general cleanup fo my minibogs and removed the obvious dead leaves. But there are many leaves that are green / red for part of the leaf and crispy brown for the top portion. Does one only remove the obvious dead part or the whole leaf?

Does one need to snip the stalks, as one might do with VFT's? I'm new to the pitcher plant flower stalk thing, both Neps & Sarrs. I actually have one of each, for the first time, and not really sure what to do with them.

Anything that's red/green can photosynthesize. I cut off yellowing leaves that are still greenish. Some people go all-natural.

I just select a portion of the plant to cut and cut EVERYTHING living or dead. Much nicer. You can see an example of that in my rhizome pics dead bog garden thread.

I snip ALL flower stalks. I can't comment on the VFT specifically since I can't keep one alive for more than a year lol. What you REALLY need to do is PM me with your address if you can :)

I snip VFT stalks as soon as I can get the scissors to them. Thats part of the reason I ask the question in the first place. I have seen other Sarracenia growers with clipped stalks 6-10" tall on their plants. Mainly I am just looking for a general idea on when people clip the flowers.