What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenia....need help

Hello all,

Im looking to get rid of my problem with wasp's that i have on my front porch and was informed that maybe a Sarracenia would help to cause some fear in the wasps.

Im new to CP's and im looking for the best plant for a newbie that will eat those damn wasp's.

No matter how many times i spray the area and stomp on the survivors , they keep coming back......its like my porch is the spawning area of every wasp in the chicago area.

Any advise would be helpful

It won't just eat them, but it will attract them and additional wasps/insects,and it's not a practical solution.

I like Flava. It's big, robust, and eats more than any of my other sarracenia.

To be honest, only Ants came into my pitchers besides wasps. My constant killing of them and my plants catching them have made me notice a severe depression in their numbers. So, a Sarra may work for you.

Any large one will work. A large S. flava, S. leucophylla (plus it's beautiful! I recommend the titan variety if you can find to put it somewhere where it can conveniently catch wasps while maintaining it's large size and won't get knocked over/damaged).

Keep in mind that leuco's produce their biggest and best pitchers in the fall, when wasps aren't as abundant. So that wouldn't "efficient" I guess you could say.