What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sarracenias are dry when pitchers inflate

I'm rather new with sarracenias and most of the folks I've asked in person tell me that when the pitchers open up and inflate, there's water inside. All my sarracenia open up with dry pitchers so it infers I'm not doing something right.

May I ask for some guidance please? I keep mine tray watered and blast them with as much sun as I can. They're red and stuff but the pitchers open dry.

The original purp:

Shot with Canon PowerShot G7 at 2007-07-01

This one might be going to sleep: It started that ever since I started tray watering. It was fine before I tray watered.

Tall purpurea hybrid:

Lower purpurea hybrid:

Rosea, seems to only grow 2 leaves and then the older one dies off by the time a new one emerges:

Cant tell if this one is inflating wet pitchers or dry :p

The plural form of Sarracenia is Sarracenia. It's like 1 moose is a moose, and 100 moose are still moose not mooses or, God forbid, meese. The plural of all genera is the same as the singular form (multiple Utricularia are called Utricularia, multiple Dionaea are called Dionaea, multiple Nepenthes are called Nepenthes, etc. )

Sarracenia are stingy with their digestive juices, unlike Nepenthes. Your S. purpurea and S. purpurea hybrids will collect rain water, more so for the former, and that will act as a catalysts for digestion.

is that rosea growing in 9/1 perlite/lfs? That could be a reason for that particular plant. My purps and hybrids like it wet. That much perlite doesn't really let it be that wet. But then it looks like it is in standing water. I don't know, but I have never seen sarracenia grown in that much perlite.