What's new
TerraForums Venus Flytrap, Nepenthes, Drosera and more talk

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Heliamphora pollination

Clint

Stay chooned in for more!
So I've got a developing flower stalk on my H. heterodoxa x minor. I'm going to try and cross it with an H. 'Tequila' using the former plant as the mother. Any tips? There is surprisingly little information about this on this forum. I've never done this before so... yeah. I'd REALLY like this to work.

The offspring should be hella easy to grow. This is the mother :
DSC02851.jpg

and this link is the father
tequilaupdate.jpg

I think I'm going to send them off (or at least my half if the father's owner doesn't want to) to be put in vitro at a place that specializes in CP propagation so I don't have to worry too much about the seed germinating assuming it's good.

I have not tried this yet, but another heli grower's advice is to "mash the flowers together" once you have a flower with pollen and a flower that is ready to receive pollen. I have read that you can use vibration (e.g tuning fork) to trick a heli flower into releasing pollen. The difficult part seems to be the collection of the pollen.

Dang, that's a nice looking plant! So is the father for that matter. I hope you are successful!

xvart.